The department provides comprehensive care in all sub specialities, which includes cataract, retina (including ROP), squint, glaucoma, cornea, refractive errors and oculoplasty. The department is well equipped with latest technologies, the recent addition to which is the OCT – A, which is a non-invasive method to study the vasculature and microscopic structure of the retina. Few of the diagnostic and treatment tools available are Zeiss HFA for glaucoma, Topcon fundus camera, Zeiss Visulas Yag II for iridotomy and capsulotomy, Zeiss HK 7000 for retinal lasers etc. The department consists of doctors who are passionate and compassionate towards patients and are ever ready to treat with recent and updated modalities, which suits the patient best.


Dr. Sumana J. Kamath

Professor & Unit Chief

Dr. Sangeetha Jeganathan

Associate Professor

Dr. Gladys R Rodrigues

Associate Professor

Dr. Keertan Rao

Assistant Professor

Dr. Roshan Christina Jaichander

Senior Resident

Dr. Avinash Suresh

Senior Resident


Cataract Surgery (Phacoemulsification)

Glaucoma and Retinal surgeries

Cornea clinic

Oculoplasty clinic

Neuro-Ophthalmology and Squint clinic

Optical Coherence Tomography /Angiography

Fundus Fluorescein angiography and fundus photo

Visual field analysis (HFA) in glaucoma and neurological disorders

Yag laser - Iridotomy and capsulotomy

Double frequency Nd yag laser for photocoagulation

Screening for retinopathy of prematurity, Diabetic and Hypertensive retinopathy.


A scan

B scan

Eye Bank